Our dining room wall is a mix of frames and stitchings from grandmothers and great aunts, printables, and family photos (mostly eating!) The mirror was my husband's grandmother's but painted our color. My dad crafted the small wooden rose next to Live Laugh Love and I placed it all in a carved frame brought from India. I painted old frames and the pot to fit our decor.

Our dining room wall is a mix of frames and stitchings from grandmothers and great aunts, printables, and family photos (mostly eating!) The mirror was my husband’s grandmother’s but painted our color. My dad crafted the small wooden rose next to Live Laugh Love and I placed it all in a carved frame brought from India. I painted old frames and the pot to fit our decor.

When you have a blank wall in your home, do you just nail up art you have? I beg you to hesitate and take time for these four happy considerations:

printablesamples

Printables that are “us”: Give us this day our daily (gluten-free) bread, You’re the Agave Syrup to my Pancakes, and Spoon full of Coconut Sugar.

1.  Make sure it’s “You.”  There are a ton of cute printables on the web you can print and hang, but choose wisely.  There may be great art on sale this time of year, but just because it’s cute doesn’t mean it fits you and your family.  The more uniquely-you an item is, the more it belongs on your wall.

2.  Blank is better than blah. Make sure what you hang is not just there to cover the blank. Don’t put it up if it doesn’t make you happy. Just because something made you happy 10 years ago doesn’t mean it still belongs in your home.  Your home is your refuge and the place you need to feel the most joy and peace. Why hang something that doesn’t make you or your family smile now?  Hang photos to reminisce or a piece of art that lifts your mood.

3.  Don’t get caught up in what your friend did.  In my world, matchy-matchy isn’t necessary.  But in the world of one who is calmed by clean lines and matching frames, it’s perfect.  Does the eclectic collage above or the clean collage below give you more calm or happy feelings? For my friends, the clean lines won.  For us, we’re sometimes all over the place, but there’s still room for clean lines, too.

This is a wall gallery we did for friends who had generously allowed us to live with them for months.  We mixed family photos with original art pieces and two canvases the family had picked up in Thailand.

This is a wall gallery we did for friends who had generously allowed us to live with them for months. We mixed family photos with original art pieces and two canvases the family had picked up in Thailand.

4.  Don’t wait forever for perfection.  While blank may be better than blah, imperfect happy is better than blank. I’m speaking to myself here. Our large living room wall has been blank for months as I’ve tried to come up with an inexpensive, yet perfect way to display our travel photos (as requested by my husband.)  But seriously, it’s out-of-control that it has stayed empty so long!  I’m challenging myself to shed my hesitation and need for perfection and get the wall happy by the end of February.

May your blank walls be filled with happiness soon (and mine, too.)

You can find free kitchen printables over at www.overthebigmoon.com.  I adapted a few of hers.  The gluten-free and sugar-free printables are originals, but I’m happy to share them soon.
About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

Happily Reply

