VicksOnFeet

I’d do anything for my kid. Sometimes that leads me to try lots of home remedies to make her feel better.

Over Christmas break, Lucy got ill while at my grandmother’s. Our large, fun family + my Mamaw’s house = six of us sharing a room (Bryan, Lucy, my brother, my sis-in-law, my niece and me).  When sweet Lucy coughed all night, I felt bad for her . . . but also for the others in the room. Her natural honey cough syrup that typically worked, wasn’t. Mom mentioned that lathering Vicks Vaporub (or the equivalent) on the bottom of feet can calm a cough. With nothing to lose, I rubbed a lot on the base of her feet, put on her socks and put her to bed. Lucy slept! And so did the rest of us. A few nights of that and Lucy was on the mend.

I just googled this home remedy out of curiosity and apparently there’s controversy about it, including a snopes report that it’s a lie. But I don’t argue with obvious results. And this obviously worked for us. I hope it can help you, too.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Yvonne Smith says:

    I used it on me for the first time, after using on my GrandBabies before, and it worked wonderfully to clear up my cough and, chest.

  2. Laura Lucero-Carrillo says:

    Dr. Gott used to write about this remedy in his column. I have never tried it; I always forget!

Happily Reply

