embracemoments_small

“In a world addicted to speed, I unfortunately blur the moments into one unholy smear.”

“Do not disdain the small. If we miss the small moments, we miss the whole.”

“And when I give thanks for the seemingly microscopic, I make a place for God to grow within me.”

“As long as thanks is possible, then joy is always possible.”

“I only live the full life when I live fully in the moment. “

“Thanksgiving is the evidence of our acceptance of whatever He gives.”

-Ann Voskamp, author of One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Tell me you’ve read One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp.  If you haven’t, stop reading this and go download it. Or order it. Or grab your car keys and drive to the bookstore. For real.

The read started out rocky for me (I still have some imagery from the first chapter in my mind and wish I didn’t) but the rest is changing me.  It’s this idea that thankfulness leads to joy, to miracles and even to salvation that is sweeping a serious, daily, attitude of gratitude across the nation.  I’m not the first to volunteer to jump on a bandwagon, but when the destination is a fuller, deeper relationship with the almighty God, I’m on board.

To acknowledge tiny moments throughout your day and thank God for them does something amazing.  It softens your heart.  It clears your mind of stress.  It makes your life revolve around Christ completely.

Have you taken the dare to count up to 1000 gifts this year?  I have.  Join me in counting the gifts God gives you.  Embrace moments throughout your days and draw closer to our Creator.  Write them in a journal or record them on the free One Thousand Gifts app.  I’m using the app and recording my one thousand gifts through pictures and words.  Do it daily.

“Manna today or I starve.”Ann Voskamp

For this free 8×10 printable pdf I designed to remind myself to simply embrace {moments}, click here or on the image below.

embracemoments_printablethumbnail

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Morgan says:

    Love this! And 1000 Gifts was life-changing for me too. I read it last year during a time of sadness and intense soul-searching, and it completely changed the way I look at life.

    I’m happy you’re blogging again–love reading your words and insights.

  2. mombabe77 says:

    Me too! Happy your back. Love you:)

Happily Reply

