MugBrownieI feel so guilty for not sharing this guilty pleasure earlier!

I ran on to the newly popular “mug cakes” in the fall.  They’re just individual servings of cake made in a mug in your microwave.  It takes less than 5 minutes and you have something to curb your baked-good craving!

So, I went to work on cakes and breads for us sugar-free, gluten free folks, and I succeeded!  I carried around my paper with my recipes hand-scribbled on it as I traveled throughout the states at Christmas, knowing one day I would sit down and share them with you all . . . and then somewhere along the way, I lost the sheet :(.  Sad day.

BUT, be happy again, because I have re-created one and boy is it yummy.  I’ve done everything from brownies to pumpkin bread, but let’s start with a basic chocolate cake.

Ingredients:

  • 1 T GF Flour, I use sweet rice flour or a gluten free flour mix (like Pamela’s or Orgran)
  • 2 T Cocoa powder (sugar-free, of course)
  • 3 T Date Sugaror Organic Coconut Sugar (both all-natural sweeteners), or regular sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 T Milk
  • 1 1/2 T Oil (Coconut oil is so good for you, but you can use any oil.)
  • 1 T Egg (whip your egg in a separate cup and only put 1 T inside your mug.  Tip:  If you add more egg, it will be more cake-y.  If you add less egg, it will be more like a brownie!)  Update: If you’d rather not use egg, this recipe also comes out great with 1 T Unsweetened Applesauce instead.  I do this more often as to skip the mess with a partial egg.
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 3 T Pecans (optional)
  • 3 fresh, chopped dates (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Mix your dry ingredients in your mug.
  2. Add your milk, oil and egg and mix with a fork, making sure you get to all the dry ingredients on the bottom/sides of your mug.
  3. Add your pecans and dates if you choose.
  4. Place your mug in the microwave for 1 minute.  (All microwave ovens vary, so you may need to adjust the time.)

Enjoy!

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

3 responses »

  1. 400daystil40 says:

    Can’t wait to try this! 🙂

  2. Andrea Shef says:

    YUM!!!
    How do you make your coconut sugar?
    I can’t wait to see the pumpkin bread/brownie recipes 🙂
    Great post! Yum!

  3. Lauren says:

    This was sooooo good!!! Thanks for sharing!

Happily Reply

