A shower these days is one of the most exhausting things I can do. About an hour ago, I made it to the bed and threw myself on it haphazardly, relieved to have showered and made it back in one piece. Yes, I’m out of the hospital and greatly appreciate your prayers.  Things didn’t go as expected and perhaps soon I’ll entertain you with stories of ICU in a developing country, but back to my exhaustion and relief…

I grabbed a couple of probiotic pills and swallowed them.  Do you know what probiotics are?  They’re a dose of good bacteria for our bodies.  Antibiotics are awesome at killing bacteria but the problem is that they often kill good bacteria as well as bad. We need good bacteria to re-balance our health.  So I take probiotics.

As I lay there recovering, I thought about the high-powered antibiotics with boxing gloves on, giving the 1, 2 punches to my Lyme disease.  Then I thought about the happy probiotics coming behind and refilling the destruction with happy bacteria.  Okay, okay, maybe the hot shower and/or antibiotics were playing with my mind (or possibly, I’m just giving you a rare back-stage pass to my own little world) but whatever it was, God used it to bring me to a lesson about him.

My mind fell to what I’m giving up for Lent. Just like my body, my soul has good and bad “bacteria.”  I’m removing something that isn’t God’s best and quite honestly, it’s leaving a hole. What am I filling it with?  Other meaningless, soul-eating “bacteria” or good soul-building “probiotic?” Or am I just leaving it as it is?  What do I need to do to get my soul back to a healthy balance?

My mind and heart then took time for a good dose of God’s “probiotic,” dwelling on his words from stories of Jesus to David’s songs.  Let the good refill the bad, both body and soul in my life! I’ll keep the boxing gloves ready. It looks like it will be a fight.

Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called… 1 Timothy 6:12

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Betty Worley says:

    Keep fighting mind, body and soul. My NP is in my SS class and she said that there was a simple solution to your spinal tap called a blood patch. Are you familair with it?

  2. Georgia says:

    I’m so sorry you’ve been sick. I’ll be waiting with baited breath to hear about icu…

Happily Reply

