Banana Bread was always a staple at my house.  The smell and taste make me feel at home! I’ve never liked anyone’s banana bread as much as I love my mom’s.  As a kid, I knew something just wasn’t “right” about other breads.  As an adult, I know the difference: mom’s is sweeter.  And not in a metaphorically, i-adore-my-mom-and-she-adds-sweetness-to-any-dish kind of way (although she does).  It is actually sweeter.

I’ve made a lot of sugar-free banana breads in the last year.  Most were okay, a few were failures, and this one was JUST like mom’s.  So, if you’re interested in baking sugar-free banana bread, and you like it sweet, you’ve come to the right place.  And, as always with us, it is also gluten-free!

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick of Butter (113.5 grams)
  • 1 1/2 cups Coconut Sugar
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 cups of gluten-free flour mix (I used Pamala’s flour mix this time; last time I used 1/2 cup soy flour, 1/2 cup Orgran all purpose mix and 1 cup sweet rice flour)
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 3/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Buttermilk (I use milk with a little vinegar in it)
  • 1 cup Mashed Bananas
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Nuts (I use pecans)

Instructions:

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease your loaf pans (or you can make muffins, but bake it a shorter time.)
  • Cream together the butter and coconut sugar with a mixer until fluffy.
  • Beat in the eggs thoroughly.
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. (We’ll call this the dry mix, though “Ralph” would be much less boring!)
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the bananas, nuts and buttermilk. (We’ll call this the wet mix.)
  • Add a little of the dry mix (Ralph) to the original bowl and beat it. Now add a little of the wet mix and beat it into the original bowl. Continue alternating and mixing until all ingredients are combined well.
  • Put your batter in your pans (not more than 1/3-3/4 full) and into the oven!
  • Bake around 40 minutes or until they are brown and a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Enjoy!
Awww, this makes me miss my mom.  Love you, Mom!  You’re the best baker in the world.

 

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

5 responses »

  1. Mom says:

    Aww … thanks Sweetheart! But I must confess I actually got the recipe from Grandma before you were born!

  2. Halo says:

    Great recipie, and lovely to find something that I don’t need to adapt! I’m a gluten free baker currently residing in the UK, living a gluten free life to control my RA. Can’t wait to try this out this weekend, I feel certain it would be the perfect reward after a good workout! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Kristi says:

    Awesome!! Yes, your Mom is a great cook and you are following in her footsteps! You need to try to make her GREAT Cinnamon rolls-James and Dustin still talk about them 🙂

Happily Reply

