I feel compelled to write about Lent today, Ash Wednesday, as the entire web has lit up with conversations about what people are giving up for the days leading up to Easter.

I can’t recall if I’ve ever given up anything for Lent.  I know for sure there have been seasons of my life where I’ve given up significant things for 40 days to journey deeper with the Lord. I remember them well because they made serious impacts on the way I do life. But I’m drawn to this idea of being sacrificial and purposeful in the days leading up to Easter Celebration.

I joke about giving up sugar for Lent because, at this point, it would be no sacrifice.  I haven’t had refined sugar in 10 months. But, is that how I live my life sometimes? I want to live a life of offering to God.  I truly believe he deserves my best. Yet, is that belief shown enough in the things I sacrifice or remove from my life to make more room for him to move in and through me?  Probably not.  I could definitely sacrifice more.

I am not Catholic, so you won’t find me at Mass everyday.  But I hope you can find me on my knees daily, renewing and growing my relationship with Jesus. For now, I won’t post what I’ve decided to sacrifice for these days, but I will tell you it hurts to give up. That pang I feel when I think about it makes me know I’m giving up the right thing and sad it has that tight of a grasp on my heart. I bet it doesn’t in 40 days.

If you’re giving up something for Lent, just make sure it hurts to lose!  And let’s use the time/attention we gain from our sacrifices to sit at the feet of the Almighty God to learn and rest.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

3 responses »

  1. Kristi says:

    What an awesome post! Thanks for reminding me where my heart needs to be. Love ya,Kristi

  2. Georgia says:

    Love it. Being away from the hype of holidays makes them much more about what matters it seems. I hope this is a special one for you.

  3. Andrea Shef says:

    haha! I was joking with Adam the other day that I was giving up salt for lent 🙂 (which, until I get some sodium-free baking powder means no cookies either!)…

Happily Reply

