CreamCheesePoundCake

When I was in college and roommates with my buddy (and now sis-in-law) Christi, we’d get these fantastic packages from her awesome step-mom Trudy with the most delicious cream cheese pound cake in it.  Oh, it was glorious!  (I even think there was one time we ate it while watching a new workout video! Man, I miss that metabolism!)  I looked forward to finals because that meant receiving a great study-buddy box with the amazing pound cake enclosed.

Now, fast-forward 10+ years and I’d do almost anything for a slice of cream cheese pound cake.  In fact, a year ago, I made the cake (adjusted to be gluten-free) much to the awe and wonder of my husband who now requests it often.

But how, I ask myself, can I make this for my husband when I know my now sugar-free-self will be burning with jealousy every time he has a piece?  So I haven’t made it in a loooong time. (I’m now over 10 months sugar-free!) But I love him and I’m ever-obsessed with making his tummy happy.  So, when his 2012 Valentine’s day request was for a cream cheese pound cake, how could I say no?

Instead, off I went to make my gluten-free version for him side-by-side creating a sugar-free, gluten-free version for me.  (Oh, how I hope that some day he grows an affinity for sugar-free sweets, but for now, it is what it is.)

And voila!  My yummy new versions are here.

Ingredients:
  • 3 sticks of butter, softened (or 2 sticks butter, one stick margarine)
  • 3 cups of sugar or for sugar-free, use 3 cups of coconut “sugar” (which is actually a low-glycemic, natural sweetener)
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 6 eggs at room temperature
  • 3 cups of gluten-free flour (I recommend Orgran all-purpose plain flour, but this time I used 2 cups of sweet rice flour and one cup of soy flour because that’s what was in my cabinet!)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
Instructions:
  • Grease a large bunt pan and roll sugar (or coconut sugar) around the sides and bottom to create a crust on the cake.  Because of the size of my bunt, I also get a small loaf out of this recipe as well.
  • Cream the sugar, butter (and margarine if using), and cream cheese until well whipped.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • Add the vanilla, then add the flour with salt.
  • Pour into prepared pan and set into a cold oven.
  •  Turn the oven to 300 degrees F and bake 75 minutes or until done in the middle.
  • Let it cool 5 minutes or so, then turn it onto a cooling rack.
  • If you’re not sugar-free, you can sprinkle it with powdered sugar all over.
  • Enjoy!

Shout out and thanks to Trudy for the original, amazing cake recipe which I have adapted slightly.  See it and other fantastic recipes of all kinds at Trudy’s site: chocolatecastles.wordpress.com.  Visit soon. You won’t be disappointed!

In the picture, gluten-free is on the left; sugar-free and gluten-free is on the right. Darker color is due to the unrefined coconut “sugar” used.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

6 responses »

  1. tkbakesalot says:

    Leslie, I LOVE your blog….just saw it and will now be a regular reader of it. I know you have really been struggling with health issues and we will be praying for God to strengthen and heal you….what a great blog…makes me smile just looking at it…by the way, Christi told me yesterday that tomorrow is your birthday, Happy Birthday to you, Leslie and hope you have a very special day because you are a very special young lady…..I wish you were here, I would bake YOU anything you wanted…..love and birthday blessings to you, Trudy

  2. Andrea Shef says:

    where do you get your coconut sugar? or how do you make it?

    • Ohhhhh, I’m sorry! I totally cheated. My mom bought it in the states when we were there at Christmas (amazon.com) and since we didn’t use it there, I brought it back. It’s really awesome. It made our banana bread extra yummy and of course this cake! I’ve not tried this recipe with date sugar. I’d probably do half date sugar and half stevia powder sub for this recipe if I didn’t have coconut sugar. Let me know if you want me to guess at those measurements for you!

  3. Dawn says:

    Would this recipe work with regular flour? We are sugar free but not gluten free.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I made this today and use Greek cream cheese and just a splash of lemon flavoring to it. My partner is gluten free, she did the happy happy dance while eating it.. super moist and super awesome.my favorite cake and my first one gluten free..addicted!! Thanks so much

Happily Reply