MakeDateSugarI use date sugar in some of my sugar-free recipes.  Why?  Dates are a naturally sweet fruit that can become the same texture as sugar and be substituted cup-for-cup in your favorite recipes.

You can order Date Sugar from amazon.com, buy it from your local health food store, or make your own from dates.

My only option is to make my own, so this is what I do:

1. Buy fresh or dried dates.

2. Take out the pits, slice the dates in half, and dry them fully in a really hot oven (I use 400*C and watch them.  Mine come partially dried from the market, so it takes them around 10 minutes more in the oven.)

3. Allow them to cool fully.  They should be hard as a rock once they’re cool.

4. Place them in a grinder, Ninja Master Prep, etc.  Mine’s small so I do it in small batches.  Some day I will have an amazing food processor!  (If your dates aren’t really hard, the grinder will get stuck on the gumminess left in the date.)

5.  Grind the dates to sugar texture.  If your grinder is like mine, you’ll have to stop a few times to un-jam a date.  Mine also heats up, so I have to let it sit for a while if it does or it will gum up my dates!

6.  Sift the sugar.  Once it is ground, it will not all be the same texture.  Sift out the best texture, then set aside the larger parts to either grind again later (once they’re cool again), or for chunky texture on the top of an apple crumble or inside a chocolate dessert.

Sugar-texture!

Chunky-texture

7.  It’s ready to use!  If it’s a finicky baked good, be sure to use the best textured date sugar.  You can use this in your morning coffee or tea as well!  I’ve even made gluten-free cinnamon toast with it.  Yummy!

Enjoy!

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

6 responses »

  1. Georgia says:

    That’s fascinating! I may have to try that! My latest indulgence is a type of dairy free brownie mix but I substitute apple sauce for oil AND pumpkin for egg. It sure isn’t sugar free but I feel like I’m doing something good for myself.. Besides, I can eat it raw!

  2. Andrea Shef says:

    Fun! I’m going to have to try this!

  3. Georgia says:

    Just checking in on you. Are you guys doing okay?

  4. […] So where do you find date sugar? Check your natural food store or try making your own (see ohappydaisy for […]

  5. […] So where do you find date sugar? Check your natural food store or try making your own (see ohappydaisy for […]

  6. hmahdi says:

    we have natural dry dates in northern sudan we make delicious date syrup from it ( assal ) we also have the sun. so extra drying can be made naturally. to make all natural date sugar .

Happily Reply

