Sorry for the phone photo, but I forgot our camera!

I remember my first sweet potato casserole.  My co-worker talked me into eating it on a buffet line our work offered us before Thanksgiving one year.  It was awful!  No wonder my family never had it on the table at holidays.

What I learned later is that sweet potato casserole made with candied yams from a can is FAR different than one made with fresh sweet potatoes!

This year, I looked at the list of food for our feast and realized no one had signed up for the sweet potatoes.  Although it is not something I normally make, the idea of creating a sugar free version enticed me, and I’m so glad it did!  Not only did everyone at the table gobble it up (most having no idea it lacked the favorite ingredient of brown sugar), but it also curbed my sweet tooth so that I wasn’t looking longingly at the dessert table!  Win-Win.

Ingredients:

3 lbs sweet potatoes
2 large or three small eggs, beat lightly
3 T butter, melted
2 T date sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla
2 T cream
1/4 tsp stevia powder (optional to add more sweetness)

Topping:
3/4 cup finely chopped pecans
1.5 T date sugar (if you make your own date sugar, this is a great opportunity to use the chunkier bits!)
1 tsp butter, melted
1 tsp cinnamon
Pinch of salt

Optional sugar addition of marshmallows (The pecan topping is enough, but adding marshmallows was a crowd pleaser and I just picked mine off since I’m the only one sugar-free.)

Instructions:

  1. Peel and cut the sweet potatoes into cubes.  Steam or boil them until tender.  (I place mine in a steaming basket for 20-25 minutes.)
  2. Mash the potatoes with a mixer and let cool slightly.
  3. Add all ingredients and whip until smooth.
  4. Spread into a greased 8 inch baking dish.
  5. Mix the Topping ingredients (not marshmellows).  Sprinkle it over the potatoes.
  6. Bake at 350*F until hot and beginning to brown around the edges, around 45 minutes.  If you’d like, add the marshmallows and broil a minute until browned.
As a friend said when dishing it out, “Get in my tummy!”
About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

One response »

  1. MaryKay says:

    This sounds like yumminess:)

Happily Reply

