Unfortunately, it is not every day that we ponder what makes us thankful.  Every day I say “thank you” to at least someone, but I do not just sit and really contemplate what nurtures my heart so much that I can not help but be grateful.

Today, I do.

I am ever thankful that God is in control, that he knows best and that he doesn’t make mistakes.  If I didn’t believe this, cling to this, than I would not survive. I ache, get sick, stay sick, watch my child sick, watch my husband struggle and I could spend all day, every day, questioning why I can’t function like I believe a “normal” person should or could.  But where would that get me?  Instead, I choose to spend all day, every day focusing on God’s sovereignty in my life, and in the world.

My thankfulness for my husband makes me teary and speechless in this moment. He loves me so much.  He adores me.  He serves me.  He may not like the extra chores he does while I’m sick, but he does them.  He desires what’s best for our family and seeks the Lord to find out His plan. His sensitive, compassionate spirit toward those around us is contagious and refreshing.  And he’s funny.  He’s really funny.  I love that man. And he loves our kid to the core and would do anything for her.

My thankfulness for being a mom is so GREATLY overshadowed by my thankfulness that Lucy’s my kid. She’s a special breed.  Daily shots of joy from Lucy nurture my soul.  I’m tired?  One smile from that girl lifts my spirits and gives me the energy to pick her up and tickle her silly. Her creativity and curiosity help me see the world anew.  Her adventurous spirit pushes me to be and do more.  As Bryan and I say all the time, “She the greatest thing we’ve ever done.”

As I sit here the list in my mind just goes on and on.  I’m so thankful for my parents and the rest of my family.  I’m thankful for Bryan’s family and for all of my friends.  I’m thankful for the internet, facebook and skype that keeps these connections alive and tight.  I’m thankful that each day I wake up and God’s mercies are new.  He breaths breath in my lungs and gives me the portion of energy I need for that day.  I’m thankful for the capacity to feel and to learn and to grow.  I’m thankful for a place to write my thoughts and my thanks.

Each day we can give something. Some days I may feel like I can’t give much, but that’s not truth. I can give joy. I can give trust. I can give encouragement. And I can give gratitude.

Today I do.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

3 responses »

  1. Mom says:

    And I’m so blessed to have you for a daughter!

  2. MaryKay says:

    You made me cry:( But I do that often. I am thankful to have you in our family and thank you for making my son a happy man and for the most precious grandbaby in the world. We love you!

  3. Nancy Zuber says:

    Hi, Leslie, this is my first time on your blog. I can’t believe how Lucy has grown. The pictures of her in Nov. ’11 and the ones from Valentine’s Day 2012 are so different. She has beautiful wispy, curly hair. I love it. We have been praying for you (all 3) and knowing that God is with you. It’s good to hear about a potential change in your status. That sounds great!
    Talk to you more later.

Happily Reply

