Sorry for the blurry phone picture--I forgot my camera!

Every year it is the same question with the same answer.  When we join others for holiday meals and I need to select what to take, this is how it goes:

“Bryan, what part of the meal do you really want to eat?” I ask, wondering what needs a gluten-free version available.

“Green Bean Casserole,” he always says first.  “And Pumpkin Pie if you have time.”

So, in case you’re like my husband and need your green bean casserole fix made gluten-free, or if you just want to make the traditional dish from scratch, here’s the recipe/method I’ve honed:

Ingredients:

8 medium chopped fresh mushrooms (1.5 cups)
4 small garlic cloves
2/3 cup chopped onions (I use purple)
4 T butter
4 T corn starch
2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 1/3 cup milk
1 1/3 cup cream (or 2 2/3 cup half and half instead of milk and cream)
9 cups of green beans, snapped (or equivalent of canned green beans)
Gluten Free Onion Rings (we always make our own, so I’ll post the recipe soon)

Instructions:

  1. Cook green beans by boiling in water for 12-15 minutes. (My husband prefers his beans really soft, so I cook his more.  Just check the taste and decide if you like the texture.)  If you’re using canned beans, skip this step.
  2. While the beans are boiling, place mushrooms, onions and garlic into a grinder or food processor to puree into a paste.  Set aside.
  3. Melt the butter in a sauce pan.
  4. To the butter, add the corn starch, salt and pepper and stir constantly for one minute.
  5. Stir in the milk and cream.
  6. Add the mushroom/onion/garlic paste and stir.
  7. Boil until thick.  You now have cream of mushroom soup!
  8. Mix the cooked beans, soup and 3/4 cup gluten-free onion rings.
  9. Bake 25 minutes in a 350* oven, in a large casserole dish, or 2 medium sized.  Top with Another 3/4 cup onion rings and bake 5 more minutes.

Enjoy!

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. This also makes a great “Black Friday” breakfast! Pretty sure this dish needs to make into our rotation of meals.

  2. MaryKay says:

    How precious you are to do what you do for Bryan . Gee I don’t know if I love him that much to fry onion rings just for the green bean casserole. Just kidding Bryan:) Ya know I would!

Happily Reply

