Right now, our family is supposed to be in Nepal, soaking up a new culture and eating new foods.  Instead, we’re still in Delhi, our trip put on hold because I was the lucky winner of a three day/two night all expense paid (sponsored by Cigna insurance) stay at one of the country’s finest hospitals!

Things I found particularly interesting about the hospital:

  • Parking is RS20 (less than fifty cents) per 8 hours.  The US could learn from that!
  • They have an exterminator come daily to spray for mosquitos.  After the initial shock that they were spraying toxins around all of the sick people, I became thankful due to the fact that in the room next door the patient likely had a mosquito born disease such as malaria or typhoid.
  • Tea is delivered at 4:30 am in order to awake you for your morning vital checks, subsequent visits by housekeeping, etc. The first morning I was sure that it was a mistake and someone next door had ordered chai.  But no.
  • Doctors give you their cell phone numbers.  Great right?  Just remember that’s why they’re constantly taking phone calls during your appointments or consultations.
  • No one wears gloves. Not even the one putting in your iv or taking your blood.
There are more, but that’s enough.  Now for what happened:
It all started Friday with bad pain in my left mid-back. I have a really high tolerance for pain, but it was getting ridiculous, taking my breath away!  On Saturday, I decided to walk down the street to a lab where they do ultrasounds and ask if I could do one without a doctor’s request. It was no problem. I was suspecting a few things . . . perhaps my spleen or liver was acting up due to the prolonged Mono; or maybe the silent gallstones were deciding to cause problems. But I didn’t expect to be having my first run-in with kidney stones.

 

My left kidney was swollen and a kidney stone was lodged in the ureter tube. Never a dull moment!

Rather than head to the hospital and take any doctor, we decided to make an appointment with a doc who knows my extensive health history and allergies.  While we waited for the appointment, I visited with my mom about home remedies and drank a concoction of 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/4 cup coconut oil. And waited. No change.

When we arrived at the hospital for the appointment, the doctor had canceled his schedule for the day for personal reasons. I ended up going potluck with the doctor after all and upon examination was told it was an emergency to be admitted into the hospital to resolve the blockage.

After lots of tests, fights about refusing antibiotics that I have severe allergies to, one night “sleeping” in a hospital bed with my toddler on one side and iv on the other, one night alone with no electronics or even a book, 4:30 am chai deliveries without requests, 3 CT scans because the staff made mistakes, refusal of more CT scans because of radiation, etc., etc., I begged to be released and do the rest of examination as an outpatient!  I was released Monday evening and am happily resting at home.  I am rid of the blockage and stone (thank you lemon juice and oil) and will continue other tests as needed.

If you suspect kidney stones, try drinking 1/4 cup lemon juice with 1/4 cup oil (olive or coconut).  The lemon is acid to break up the stones while the oil gets the acid down safely and supposedly lubricates the stone’s way out.

 

And for all of your curious minds.  From my experience:  Natural childbirth pain > Kidney stone pain.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

4 responses »

  1. Auntie Sassy says:

    So glad to hear you are feeling better….

  2. MaryKay says:

    Thank God for Mom’s who do their homework! Good job Peggy:) Glad your feeling better!

  3. Georgia says:

    and… there’s a reason health care is cheaper in most the rest of the world right?

    But chai? Sweet.

    Sorry for the pain. I’ll remember the lemon juice and oil thing. And SUPER annoying about the CT scans. When J had his meng. run in, we got flown down south and he was given teh WRONG medicine and wrong amount… ugh.. Imagine those who can’t read/don’t know and have no advocate?

    I’m thankful we have the best advocate grace can buy.

    Going off on a new tangent, but you know what I mean. Glad you’re well/better.

  4. Great news … I’ll keep praying … keep pushing His kingdom.

Happily Reply

