For the first time since I started this blog, I had a week of unannounced silence. I love blogging. It’s fulfilling a need in me for expression. It’s a much-needed hobby. It’s just plain fun. So, I find myself writing often, if not daily.

But this week was different.  We had the joy of friends traveling to visit us for the week. They came with the goals to hang out and help out and those goals were definitely accomplished! Although I failed to get a picture of the four of us, I did get pictures of our precious daughters.

And, I got pictures of some of the spaces we organized (though we organized more and I really wish I had before pictures so you could appreciate the transformation!):

Oh, my closet! We donated at least 2/3rds of it! I love that what is left fits so well! A drawer for scarves, two for pants, and one for pajamas!

All of Lucy's toys were dumped into large plastic tubs before. We had this bookshelf in Lucy's room, but it wasn't functional because she mostly plays in the living room. We moved it to the living room and organized everything on it and it's working great! Lucy and mommy are both happier. And so is our house-helper's family. She took the toys we were going to donate and gave them to her children and neighbors. The next day she couldn't stop talking about how happy everyone was about the toys!

My friend, Lynn, admits to loving taking a messy space and making it functionally organized.  I, on the other hand, admit to making things messy!  (Especially lately, with so much less energy.) She was a huge help and motivation. When I was tired, she brought things to the bed for us to organize. When I was emotionally attached to pants that should have been retired years ago, she didn’t budge on her stance to give them away. She was just what I, and this house, needed.

And the games . . . you know we love good game nights!  Once the girls went to bed, we played games until we couldn’t hold our eyes open any more (which the first night was 9:30, I’m sad to say!)

Thank you, Dustin, Lynn and Corinne for a great week! We wish you could stay forever!

And now you know why my “blog silence” was golden.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

9 responses »

  1. Mom says:

    Wow! It looks wonderful! I love the pictures of everything … and the girls! So thankful for your precious friends!

  2. Morgan says:

    I think your friend Lynn and I would get along well. There is almost nothing I enjoy more than organizing a closet or a bookshelf…except for maybe a game night. 🙂 Love the results! Glad you had a good visit with good friends.

    • Haha. Yes, that’s true, Morgan! Maybe there are more people than I think who would love a chance at organizing my messes :). If you survive this time with all of those boys, take a vacation and help me finish my organizing!

    • Christi says:

      Well, when can you come visit then? My house feels like a nightmare sometimes….and the closet, oh how I dread the day I finally have to deal with my closet!

  3. Shannon Gray says:

    I am glad that you got organized! That in itself will give you some extra energy.

  4. Andrea Shef says:

    Fun! I love playing games until I can’t keep my eyes open 🙂 haha! Awesome!

  5. Christi says:

    Everything looks great! Can you send me Lynn’s address so that I can become friends with her and then maybe she could come help me get organized 🙂 Seriously, I know you were so thankful for the help and for all the game playing.

  6. MaryKay says:

    I may borrow your closet idea. I like it alot:)

Happily Reply

