When I started cooking and baking gluten-free, I was quite the chemist in the kitchen, mixing a little of this and a little of that to make perfect concoctions.  And I still love doing that sometimes!  But the reality of life living in asia with a toddler and health constraints keeps me thankful for the advances in the gluten-free world. Here are some of my favorite go-to gluten-free flour and bread mixes:

I’ve been known to bake four batches of brownies back to back, each using different gluten-free flours to find the best one, weighing taste and price. But these are still just my opinions!

Orgran All Purpose Flour

Although a pricey option, this is by-far the best I’ve found in substituting cup for cup with all-purpose wheat flour in baking recipes.  I’ve made many of our family’s favorite recipes without changing anything except using this instead of wheat flour.  Even friends rarely know the difference between the gluten-free baked good and glutenous goodie.  This flour mix has never failed me and I’ve been using it for years.  If money wasn’t an issue, I would use this exclusively and cut down the clutter in my kitchen and mind!  If you’re just starting out, this would be a great one to encourage you that gluten-free isn’t all that bad!

 


Pamela’s Bread Mix

Orgran Easy Bake Bread Mix
Orgran Alternative Grain Wholemeal Bread Mix

    We’ve never been much of a sandwich-eating family so the lack of sliced bread isn’t a tragedy in our home.  If it was, I probably would have perfected a from-scratch recipe by now.  But since it’s not, we use these three mixes.  Pamela’s yields more of a wheat, spongy bread while Orgran’s is a basic white or wheat sliced bread (and is processed sugar-free!)  I pre-slice and freeze the bread, pulling out a few slices as needed.  Pamela has a great recipe for cinnamon rolls using her bread mix, too!

Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix

Image borrowed from http://www.pamelasproducts.com

We love this for pancakes.  Honestly, before gluten-free I never used pancake mixes. From-scratch pancakes are so easy!  But Pamela’s pancakes from this mix (especially when you add in bananas, blueberries or homemade applesauce and cinnamon) are perfect.

South Asian Made

If you are living in South Asia, I have a basic gluten-free flour mix I buy cheaply that is made here and it works well. I don’t have a package of it right now (it’s already poured into my plastic sealed container!) so I’ll post the name and picture next time I get some! I’ve tried all of them.  Bryan can’t tell the difference between this one and the Orgran All-Purpose (and it’s more than $6 less per 4 cups here) but I can tell a slight difference in the taste because of the lentil flour included.  It also doesn’t rise as well in baked goods.  We still use it because it’s cheap and available and for breading chicken or veggies, it’s perfect.

For cakes and more

I know this is just a few mixes in a sea of many these days.  I don’t use cake/cookie mixes often, but in general, if it’s a baked good, we find that Pamela’s brand is more moist and yummy than Betty Crocker.  Also, Pamela has compiled dozens of recipes for each mix she sells and every one I’ve tried is great!  Although we love Bob’s Red Mill for other things, we do not like his gluten-free all-purpose flour mixes or his pancake mix.

If you’ve used gluten-free mixes, what do you like?

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

One response »

  1. Jennifer Mykytiuk says:

    Pamela also has a chocolate cake recipe that is dairy and gluten free that is yummy!

Happily Reply

