I crave sweets.  That’s why I have sugar-free baked goods on here!  I crave breads and salty snacks, too.  A processed sugar-free, gluten free lifestyle is not super-easy for me yet, now 7 months into it.  But I have found things that make it simpler.

1. Yogurt! (And frozen yogurt!)


We easily buy plain, no sugar added yogurt here called Dahi.  I love to mix fruit in it.  In fact, when my husband enjoys a bowl of ice cream, I often mash bananas, mix them into yogurt and eat it feeling like I have a treat myself! I froze some today and it was good (and quite literally: frozen yogurt!) Eating it did give me the feeling of eating ice cream, though I prefer it just cold, not frozen. Fresh berries would be great in it.

2. Nut Mix!

A favorite craving buster in our house is the nut mix.  We buy raw nuts that we like (mostly almonds, pistachios and cashews) and roast them ourselves.  I know there’s a lot of bad press out there for roasting nuts (that it takes a lot of the healthy goodness away), but the truth is, we won’t eat them raw.  We’ll eat them roasted.  So I roast them in an oven (400*F or high broiler), each nut separately because they roast at different speeds.  You don’t need to add oil, but I spray one nut type with oil and salt it so that each handful of the mix has some salt.  It only takes 5-8 minutes in the oven, so I pull up a stool and watch so I don’t burn them.  Then I add golden raisins to the nut mix to have something sweet!  It’s a good punch of protein but satisfies my sugar craving, too.  (If you’re not sugar-free, I’d imagine M&Ms would be a delightful addition!)

3. Fruit!

I always keep fruit on hand.  When I’m craving sugar, if I give my body natural sugar, it’s normally pleased.  Bananas are my favorite, followed by apples.  I love pineapples and mangoes when they’re in season.  In the rare case I’m out of fruit,  I catch myself rummaging through the drawers wondering if something sugary survived the kitchen purge months ago.

4. Popcorn!

Popcorn is a good general snack.  It’s healthiest if you pop it on the stove top or in an air popper.  After burning out the 2 air poppers I’ve bought here (likely because they weren’t the proper voltage), I decided to stick with stove-top-popped.

 

 
As I mentioned before, the most important step to my success in eating is having safe foods available for when I’m craving something on my “can’t eat” list.  These are four of my go-to snacks.  What are yours?

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

One response »

  1. Such an interesting post Leslie! We are doing the Abs Diet now which doesn’t allow much if any sugar. We also grab yogurt, almonds (roasted for us too), fruit, and stove-top-popped popcorn. My other craving buster is protein shakes – mixed berries, yogurt, oats, flax, milk, fruit juice, and protein powder (optional). If you make it in a food processor instead of a blender, the consistency is that of ice cream!

Happily Reply

