The little guy loved to jump and play while the others hissed.

Rarely am I overcome with fear like I was today.  It wasn’t the fear that quickly gives way to thrill, like when you’re riding a roller coaster, but rather the fear that threatens to give way to panic that leaves you standing in one place, numb.

I was home alone and woke up from a nap to a loud boom! boom! BOOM! It is the season of sound-barrier-breaking fire crackers in this country, but it wasn’t that kind of a boom.  It was the sound of someone (or, ahem, something) trying to break into the house.

I jumped up and slowly opened the bedroom door to peer through.  I couldn’t believe it!  There were 5 monkeys of varying sizes on our front balcony, all jumping around, throwing themselves at our windows and doors, and hissing.  Fear–panic–standing in one place, numb.

I went back in the bedroom and shut the door behind me, assessing the situation.  More boom! boom! booming!  My heart was beating so fast.  I knew they might come through the door.  They are strong.  My mind flashed to the bear that broke into my parents’ home last year while they were sleeping. I even thought about how insurance didn’t cover their damage from animals–ha!

Then, I did what any responsible person would do.  I took a deep breath, grabbed my cameras and braved the living room, praying that God would keep the monkeys out of our house.

Obviously, I survived.  I didn’t actually capture them pulling on the doors as it freaked me out every time.  But I did capture these pictures and video.

Don’t let their cuteness fool you!  They’re scary.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re having a hard day and aren’t sure what to be thankful for, join me in being thankful that there aren’t monkeys in our/your living room.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

8 responses »

  1. Dustin says:

    Thanks for being brave and capturing these pictures for the world to enjoy!

  2. Oh my word! I would be freaking out! I can’t believe you were that close to the windows videoing them and taking pictures. Wow! You are one brave woman!!!!! 🙂

  3. MaryKay says:

    OMG!!!! I don’t know if I could have come out of the bedroom! Glad your ok. When Bryan got home, did they run to meet him at the car?

  4. Karen Clayton says:

    AAAAHHHHHH!!! YOU are my hero!!! I’d be scared to death! That is the stuff of nightmares, girl!!! Stay brave! Praying for you!!!

  5. You want us to come visit you? If so, I have to pretend this blog never existed. La, la, la. Never saw the pictures. Never watched the video. La, la, la. Going to my happy place.

  6. 240counseling says:

    Thanks for retraumatizing me, Leslie. It’s taken me years to get over my monkey incident. Clearly I’m going to need more counseling.

  7. I want all of you to know it seems like the monkeys have left the neighborhood for now! I did leave out that they turned on the water faucet on the porch and drank out of it. Clever little monkeys. Thanks for your concern!

Happily Reply

