One day of our vacation in South India, we took a boat on the backwaters.  The backwaters are a unique thing about Kerala I failed to mention in my last post.  They’re a network of waterways, often fed by both fresh and salt water, from lakes and the Arabian sea. Because of the mix of salt and fresh water, they host an interesting variety of sea, land and air animals as well as lots of greenery. So, many people take cruises through the backwaters to see the sights.  We opted out of the cruise, but into a short morning tour.  Here’s some of what we saw:

Birds! (Lucy loves birds.)

  

Lots of coconut trees and water!

A cow on the beach!

Other boats!

Floating restaurants!

People brushing their teeth and washing a goat!

It was fun, but hot!  Mom and Lucy were glad we put on our hats that morning.

 

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

Happily Reply

