As I write this, I have mononucleosis.  Yes, laugh if you must, I have the “kissing disease.”

It’s hard having mono.  This is my fourth time.  But it’s the first time I’ve had mono as a mom.  WAY harder than having mono when living with your mom.

Mono is a virus and there is no treatment other than rest.  If you don’t rest properly, mono can relapse over and over and become a chronic problem.  All parents can now fully see my dilemma with a toddler. We are fortunate that my husband often works from home and has the flexibility to help when needed. But, I want to do all I can to prevent him from being in demand!

The reality is that many moms have chronic pain and illness that keep them in a cycle of needing rest. With Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia, I understand.  So, if you’re a mom who has to be extra creative to take care of your kid/kids with less energy exerted, what ideas can you share?

Some things we’ve been doing:

Every day this week, Lucy and I have played this game:  We lie down together and pretend to sleep.  Then I lift my head and we laugh at each other.  Sometimes, I’m the only one lying down and she’s running around, then comes over to touch me so I’ll look up and laugh.  We both think this game is hilarious and it allows me to lie down and even close my eyes a lot!

I try to think of things that keep Lucy in one place a while, then do that while I rest. For her, stickers do that.  She’ll sit with one sheet of stickers for 20 minutes, sticking and re-sticking them.  Or, she loves to play in the rocking chair.  She’ll play a good 20-25 minutes straight if she hasn’t seen it in a while, so I select the times I really need it to push it out.

Tonight, Lucy desperately wanted to go outside.  (She’s 15 months old and often goes to the door, points outside and says “this!”  Sometimes she brings me her shoes or the baby bjorn if she thinks I’m not getting the picture.)  I didn’t have the energy to go downstairs and let her play (we’re on the third floor) so, instead, we went on the porch and talked about everything we could see.  We do this a lot.  And there’s still a lot to discover: Leaves, chipmunks, cars, electricity wires, ants, people, birds, and at our house, an occasional owl or monkey.

Then, when all other activities fail, I just let Lucy clean up after herself with this traditional Indian broom. 🙂

If God has entrusted you with children, remember He doesn’t make mistakes!  He will give you everything you need to care for them.  For me during this season of extra exhaustion from mono, God has been so great to provide everything I need and everything Lucy needs, too.  He’s reminded me to not beat myself up when I can’t do more, but to rest in Him and trust his sovereignty in our lives.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Morgan says:

    I have been trying to think of other ways to keep Lucy entertained while you rest. When I was on bedrest with Lucas for several months, I had to think of ways to keep Aidan busy (and, of course, more recently had to keep Lucas busy while I had mono). One sweet friend brought over a bucket filled with random little things–plastic shapes, rubber balls, little animals, cookie cutters, etc.–just all kinds of things she had picked up that might be interesting to a 2-year-old. Aidan had a blast pulling things out one by one, and we would talk about each thing as he did. When he got bored with that mix of things, I would fill the bucket with another assortment of stuff for him to dig through and marvel over.

    We also played with dried beans or rice a lot–I would fill a big bowl or casserole pan with dried beans, and he would play with them like he would with sand. We used measuring cups and spoons and sand toys to play. It was like having an indoor sandbox, and I could lay on the floor next to him while he played.

    We built tents, and would lay down inside for long periods of time.

    We had lots of fun playing with flashlights in a dim room. We used colanders to shine the flashlights through and made “stars” on the ceiling.

    I know it’s hard!

    • Thanks, Morgan! I was going to quote you about the tent and role playing “doctor” but I hadn’t asked permission :). Your ideas have been helpful for me, for sure. I’m going to try the beans and rice soon. The bucket is a great idea, too. I’m getting more energy these days so it’s becoming easier.

Happily Reply

