The journey to the happy chair includes Pinterest, penny-pinching and my love-hate relationship with the color orange.

Critical side note: Have you been on Pinterest yet?  It’s a collection of inspiring links and photos to places all over the internet.  You can create a profile and boards with self-named themes.  You can connect to other friends’ boards and comment back and forth.  You can even “pin” this site if you choose.  It’s a place to watch trends and become inspired.  You know those fun things you’ve always wanted to do?  Someone has done it and probably “pinned” a place where you can learn how to do it yourself.

One of my monthly blog goals is:

do something I’ve “pinned” on Pinterest and feature it here.

So, here’s my first Pinterest inspired project.

I pinned this photo onto one of my Pinterest boards.  It comes from a blog by a woman named Paige Knudsen.  She took the photo while at a local fair.

They’re happy chairs, right?  But how did I end up with my own happy chair?  The story starts 4 1/2 years ago when we first moved to India. 

We lived in a smaller city and ordered a couch and 2 chairs to be made.  (Some of you may remember the saga of the too-long couch posted on our family blog years ago.)  When we saw our fabric choices, we were a little shocked.  They were all felt-like and fuzzy with raised designs.  Most of them had 80’s prints (and the 80’s weren’t back yet!)  Not wanting a lightening bolt or squiggly line all over our furniture, we went into a dark room (electricity was out) and dug through piles of fabric rolls for quite a while.  It was so bad that when Bryan pulled out a bright orange fabric with raised targets all over it, we were sold.  The 70’s was a happy sight.

Fast forward 4 years and our fabric is well loved and well worn.  The orange turned to burnt orange (thank you dust and cleaning products) and my heart found a special place for the dots.  BUT, there were holes worn all over the furniture.  And our couch became molded during our last trip to the states.  So it was time to buy a new couch.

We scoured the markets here for a good upholstery fabric at a great price.  There are great fabric choices in this city–anything you want.  But everything I did want was really expensive.  So we kept putting it off and went 8 months without a sofa . . . until we ran across a fabric sale.  And what was on special?  Orange.  The only thing I said I didn’t want to repeat.  I could have done the target pattern again, but the orange?  Not my favorite.  But it was done.  Again.  We were getting an orange couch.  And the sale was so good, we bought enough fabric for the chairs.

The man delivered our sofa and hauled off our chairs.  Goodbye sweet polka dots!  Hello more orange.

I was moping around about the orange when Pinterest presented me with the patchwork chair.  My mind raced with questions.  Could we catch the chair walla in time?  Could we explain what we wanted in Hindi?  Could I find enough budget fabric?

A month later, I have my happy chair.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

3 responses »

  1. Lauren Lee says:

    Looks great! Very creative and happy.

  2. MaryKay says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CHAIR!!!!! How fun:)

  3. MaryKay says:

    Gary & I love this idea! We want to do something similar for our new home:)

Happily Reply

