eggrolls

I’ve always loved to order Southwestern Eggrolls at restaurants, but they’re not gluten free!  These are gluten free and every bit as yummy.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of corn
  • 1 cup of dry beans, cooked and drained OR one can of beans drained.  I used kidney beans, but would have loved to have black beans!
  • 2 medium purple onions, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, finely diced
  • 10 slices of jalapenos, diced
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1-2 cups shredded cheese
  • 24 sheets of Rice Paper (I use large=22 cm)

Instructions:

  • Cook and shred your chicken breasts.
  • Stir fry your onions in a dab of butter for 2-3 minutes.  If using frozen corn, stir fry it with the onion.
  • Add all ingredients except the chicken and cheese and cook until warm.
  • Stir in the chicken.
  • Turn off the stove. Your filling is ready.
  • Dip your rice paper sheets individually into water and remove after a few seconds.
  • Place them individually on a towel for one minute to soften.
  • Place 2 tablespoons of filling just off-center of each paper.  Add cheese.  (I fill 2-4 at a time because that’s all the counter/towel space I usually have.)

  • Fold the side closest to the filling over. Then fold over the top and bottom. Then roll closed. For detail instructions with pictures on how to fill/fold/cook the rice paper, click here.

  • Heat your oil on medium-high and once hot, place the eggrolls thin side down.
  • Cook on the first side 1 minute, then turn over and cook for 2 minutes.

  • Remove from oil and place on a wire cooling rack so that the oil can drip below and the eggrolls remain crispy.

  • Serve with ranch dressing.

We prefer them fried, but as an alternative, I have tested a baked version.  Place them on a cookie sheet, spray them with olive oil spray (or butter spray) and bake at 425* for 20 minutes, turning them over half way through.

This recipe yields 2 dozen eggrolls.  If I make them just for us, I either roll them all and store them uncooked in the fridge or freezer (I’ve tested both and they work great) to use another time, or freeze the rest of the filling to pull out and wrap another day for an easy meal.

Happy Eating!
About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

One response »

  1. Georgia says:

    BTW I used to read a website called ohsheglows.com where she has a vegan bakery. I haven’t read it in a long time, but I think she puts recipes on everyday. Just in case you would be interested!

Happily Reply

