I got a lot of email/facebook questions about the rice paper I used for the Apple Yumplings. I’m glad you guys are as excited about it as I am!  Here’s some more info on finding and using it:

I find my rice paper at a Big Bazaar (our closest thing to Walmart) in the Thai/oriental isle. If you’re in the USA, check Walmart or your local grocery on the asian isle (not the cold section.)  They might be called “spring roll wrappers” instead.  Be careful not to mistake them for the pastry wrappers in the freezer section that are often made of wheat!

I wish I could run to the store and confirm where to find it there, but someone do the work for me and leave a comment when you find it!

Now that you have the rice paper, what do you do?

It’s a hard circle when you get it.  Once you’ve made your filling, immerse an individual sheet of rice paper in water and remove it after only a few seconds.


Place it flat on a towel for one minute to soften.  Now it will be a gummy texture.
Place your ingredients just off center in a line.


Fold over the side closest to your filling first.


Fold over the top and bottom.


Now, roll the rest up.  If you need to, seal the end with a little water.


Now it’s ready to fry or bake!
To fry: heat oil on medium-high until hot.  Place the rolls thinner side down, frying for one minute.  Flip them over and fry for another 2 minutes.  Be careful not to let them touch in the pan because they’re sticky.


To bake: Spray or rub them lightly with a little oil or butter.  Place in a 425* oven for 20 minutes, turning them over half way.  This will not make them super crispy, but they’re still yummy!


Cool them on a wire cooling rack so that the extra oil will drip and keep them crispy.

You can actually eat rice paper without cooking it for a fresh spring-roll taste.  Our family loves ours fried :).

Check out the upcoming recipes for Southwestern Eggrolls and Chimichangas for other ways to use rice paper.

About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

One response »

  1. Andrea Shef says:

    sweet! I can’t wait to try this!

Happily Reply

