I learned this week that my husband doesn’t really love brownies.  I assumed he loved them because I’ve made them frequently over our 9 year marriage.  But really, it was my love for them and my assumption that he shared my brownie-love that motivated the making.

So since I’ve been sugar & gluten free, I’ve made an excellent brownie I can eat and now don’t feel required to make a sugary batch for my husband at the same time!

These brownies take just 10 minutes to mix and throw in the oven if you have the date sugar either bought or prepared ahead of time.

Making the date sugar does take me hours.  It’s a ton of work, but totally worth it for the chocolate goodness.  (Although if I lived in the states, I would probably buy the date sugar and save the time & energy! Amazon.com even sells it.) Next time I make date sugar, I’ll take pictures and blog a “how to.”

Leslie’s nutty Sugar-free Gluten Free Brownies:Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup plus 3 T oil
  • 1 1/2 cups date sugar, tapped well
  • 1/2 cup minus 1 1/2 teas water
  • 3 extra large eggs
  • 3/4 cup gluten free flour*
  • 1/2 cup well-packed usweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 3/4 teas baking soda
*you can substitute regular flour if you’re only sugar-free!  Still yummy! I use a mix of rice, tapioca and oat flours, but have tested it with many gf flour variations and it works!Instructions:
  • Preheat oven to 350*F.
  • Oil bottom only of baking dish.
  • In large bowl, stir together all ingredients except baking soda until well combined.
  • Stir in baking soda quickly and then mix 30 beats.
  • Immediately pour mixture into prepared baking pan and into the oven.
  • Bake 20 minutes, then turn oven down to 325*F and bake another 15 minutes.
  • Remove pan from oven and place on wire rack. Cool 30 minutes.
FAIR WARNING:  Dates can have a mild laxitive effect.  I may or may not know this because I ate the whole pan of brownies in 24 hours after having fasted from all sugars–even natural sugar substitutes–for four months :).
About ohappydaisy (Leslie)

I love happy things. That includes my silly husband, giggly daughter, polka-dots and daisies. We used to live in India, a land far away from the familiar, but we're back in the states. I cook a low-processed, gluten-free, sugar-free menu. I've struggled with my health since childhood. I learn a lot as I journey through my life and hope that readers with parallel paths will be encouraged and inspired towards happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Leslie, I had no idea you were gluten-free. I began several months ago and it made a huge impact on my health (I think I have a gluten intolerance versus a true gluten allergy). However, with our move and such, I have been eating gluten and it has majorly negatively impacted me. So I need to get back on track. Thanks for the great recipes. I’m going to have to try them!

    • Hi C.C.! I hope some of the recipes will help. We learned my husband has Celiac Disease 3 years ago, so I’ve been cooking gluten-free for a while. But I just went more strictly gluten-free myself a few months ago and have seen health benefits for sure. An intolerance can make a huge difference! I’ve found if I can be strict at home where I have more control, then small things when I eat elsewhere don’t do as much damage. Good luck!

Happily Reply

